Breaking: INEC Declares PDP Winner Of The Imo State Election

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared Jerry Alagbaoso of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, as the winner of the supplementary election that held on Saturday, in Orlu/Orsu/Oru East Federal Constituency, in Imo State.

The Returning Officer of the election, Emma Anakwuba, announced the results and returned the PDP Candidate under tight security, at INEC’s office in Owerri, the Imo State capital, on Tuesday night. 

This declaration is coming three days after political thugs invaded INEC’s Collation Centre, in the State, and tore up the election results, after accusing the Electoral Umpire of compromising the exercise.

READ  2021: PDP To Reconcile Warring Parties In Anambra State - Umahi

The Returning Officer said that the PDP Candidate scored 22,475 votes, to emerge as the winner, beating the All Progressives Congress, APC, Candidate, Eddy Iheanacho, who got 20,814 votes.

Recommended For You

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: