Buhari inaugurates panel for state legislature, judiciary autonomy

                       From left: President Muhammadu Buhari; Minister of Justice, Mr Abubakar Malami; Special Adviser to the President on Legislative Matters, Sen. Ita Enang; Chief Judge of Kogi State, Justice Nasir Ajanah; Chief Judge of Bayelsa State, Justice Kate Abiri; Chairman Senate Committee on Judiciary, Sen. David Umaru; Chairman House Committee on the Judiciary, Mr. Aminu Shagari; President of Nigerian Bar Association, Mr. Paul Usoro and the Grand Khadi of Gombe State, Alhaji Abdullahi Usman, during the inauguration of the Presidential Implementation Committee on the Autonomy of the State Legislature and State Judiciary, at the Presidential Villa in Abuja on Friday. PHOTO: NAN

President Muhammadu Buhari yesterday inaugurated the presidential implementation committee on autonomy of state legislatures and judiciaries in line with the fourth alteration to the 1999 constitutional amendment.

The 16-man panel has the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami, as chairman while the presidential adviser on National Assembly (Senate), Sen Ita Enang will serve as secretary.

Inaugurating the panel at the Presidential Villa in Abuja yesterday, Buhari urged the panel to be meticulous and diligent in discharging its assignment.

The president, who said the panel has three months for the assignment, urged members to ensure compliance with the term of reference.

READ  Buhari condoles with Kenyatta over attack

He said the setting up of the committee was necessitated by the realization that legislative and judicial autonomy are necessary pre-conditions for the country’s democracy to endure.

“We are committed to strengthening our democracy by ensuring separation of powers among the three arms of the Nigerian government even at the state level. Furthermore, we have identified the need to sustain our constitutionally guaranteed federal system of government by building capabilities not only at the federal level but at all the federating units,” the president said.

Earlier in his remarks, Malami said the inauguration of the panel would make the alteration a reality.

READ  Church Thieves Caught In Delta State (Photos)

Other members of the committee include representatives of State Judiciary, Nasir Ajanah, Chief Judge of Kogi State, Kate Abiri, Chief Judge of Bayelsa State, Abdullahi Maikano Usman, Grand Khadi, Gombe State Sharia Court of Appeal; and Abbazih Musa Abubakar Sadeeq, President of the FCT Customary Court of Appeal.

The state legislatures are to be represented by Mudashiru Obasa, Chairman, Conference of Speakers of State Legislatures of Nigeria and Speaker, Lagos State House of Assembly, as well as Abel Peter Riah, Speaker, Taraba State House of Assembly.

The Judiciary Staff Union of Nigeria is to be represented by Marwan Mustapha Adamu, Parliamentary Staff Association of Nigeria, Bala Hadi.

READ  Witness testifies against driver accused of killing ex-Oyo Chief Judge

The body of Chairmen of Houses of Assembly Service Commissions, Musa Mustapha Agwai and Senate Committee chairman on Judiciary, Human Rights, and Legal Matters, David Umaru

Others are House of Representatives Committee on Federal Judiciary, Aminu Shagari and the Accountant General of the Federation, Ahmed Idris, the Secretary of the National Judicial Council, Ahmed Gambo Saleh and a representative of the National Assembly, Charles Bala.

Others are: DG of the Nigerian Governors Forum, Asishana Okauru, Chairman of the Forum of Finance Commissioners in Nigeria; President of the Nigerian Bar Association, Paul Usoro, SAN and Chike Adibuah Esq, representing Civil Society Organizations.

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply