Confusion As Adamawa Assembly Members Exchanged Blows Over Failed Impeachment

                            Image result for Adamawa Assembly

As a result of failed attempts to impeach the Deputy Speaker and the Majority Leader many members of the Adamawa State House of Assembly exchanged blows as they struggled with the mess.

The failed impeachment was cordinated by Mr. Kabiru Mijinyawa, the Speaker who wanted to oust his Deputy, Emmanuel Tsamdu, the Majority Leader, Mamman Barguma and four other members who held other positions which Kabiru Mujinyawa wanted to remove from their positions.

In a swift reaction to the grandstanding confrontation with the speaker which led to brows flying all over the hallowed chambers of the Adamawa State house of Assembly, the deputy Speaker Emmanuel Tsamdu alongside three other Principal Officers of the sixth Assembly have dismissed the charade the led to their unconstitutional impeachment.

READ  2 men bag 1 year in prison each for beating woman

The Assembly held its emergency meeting on Saturday in Yola where Mr. Kabiru Mijinyawa desperately tried to get some signatures to sign for the impeachment before fight broke out and some members attempted to snatching the mess which led to a free for all fight.

After a roudy session following the adjournment of the sitting by the presiding Deputy Speaker Emmanuel Tsamdu of Madagali Constituency other members in support of the impeachment nominated Lumsambani Mijah Dilli of Demsa Constituency as Speaker pro tempo to preside over before electing new deputy speaker.

READ  Postponed polls: APC queries INEC

Thereafter the lawmakers elected Mr Lumsambani Mijah Dilli as new Deputy Speaker.

In a related development the State Assembly has dissolved its three principal officers following a motion raised by the member representing Jada Mbulo Constituency Hammanjoda Umar Farang during Saturday plenary session.

New Deputy Speaker Lumsambani Mijah Dilli has announced new leadership of the House with Haatyatu Muhammad Atiku as Majority Leader, Sani Shehu Mohammad Deputy Majority Leader of the House and Sufiyanu Aminu Aliyu as new Deputy chief whip.

Meanwhile the Deputy Speaker has announced Alhaji Rufa’I Umar Gombi as new Minority leader of the House.

READ  See Your State Internally Generated Revenue For 2019

Reacting on the development Deputy Speaker Emmanuel Tsamdu and Majority Leader Hassan Mamman Barguma described the purported impeachment as null and void as due process was not followed during the impeachment process.

Hassan Mamman Barguma and Emmanuel Tsamdu blasted the speaker Kabiru Mijinyawa for which hunting them because they we’re opposed to his failures as the speaker.

They said the speakers penchant for manipulation of events at the house cannot hold as the house a democratic one and not a personal estates of Kabiru Mijinyawa.

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply