FG Distributes Cash to Anambra Residents

Anambra Residents

As part of its efforts to make Nigerians smile again, the federal government has commenced the payment of six months arrears owed beneficiaries of National Conditional Cash Transfer in Anambra State.

Akelicious reports that the beneficiaries were drawn by the federal government from the six trial Local Government Areas (LGAs) -Ihiala, Dunukofia, Ayamelum, Anambra West, Orumba South, and Awka North.

The Transition Committee Chairman of Ihiala LGA, Jude Obi, while performing the official inauguration on Wednesday, September 1, admonished the beneficiaries to make good use of the money.

See also  2019 Budget presentation: Reps clear way for Buhari

Obi stated that the N30, 000 accumulated arrears being paid to the beneficiaries was reasonable for them to start petty trading.

The NewTelegraph report indicates that he commended President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration for the initiative and Governor Willie Obiano for the enabling environment provided, for the exercise to succeed.

Also, Uche Ozuzu, an official of the National Cash Transfer Office, Abuja who monitored the payment said he was impressed with the conduct of both beneficiaries and payment officials at various centres.

See also  We have not been able to deal with Boko Haram, another one is brewing in S-East - Aisha Yesufu

Mrs Florence Nwakor, Head of Operations, Anambra Cash Transfer Office and Mr Raphael Enukaora, Head Anambra Cash Transfer Office said more than 8,000 beneficiaries were recently added to the existing persons in the state.

Enukaora listed Awka South, Nnewi North, Ogbaru, Onitsha South and Anambra East LGAs as areas recently added.

He said that enrollees from the new LGAs would start to receive their N5,000 monthly stipend once they complete payment of the arrears of 13 months.

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply


%d bloggers like this: