Ghana Ex-President, Oyegun, Kachikwu, Otedola, To Receive 2018 Zik Award


The former President of Ghana, John Mahama, ex- National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Chief John Odigie Oyegun, the Nigeria’s Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Ibe Kachikwu and Chairman, Forte Oil Plc, Femi Otedola have been pencilled for 2018 Zik Award. Announcing the names of the winners to journalist in Lagos, member of the advisory board of the Public Policy Research and Analysis Centre (PPRAC), Prof. Pat Utomi, said the Zik leadership awards was instituted in 1995 in honour of the late Nnamdi Azikiwe primarily to encourage and nurture leadership on the African continent and in the diaspora. Utomi disclosed that an exhaustive appraisal of nominees in various award categories have been done before these official announcing of their names. He said, “The year 2018 Zik Prize Award is set to follow the noble tradition of recognizing service and excellence.” In the political leadership category, the former Ghanaian president, John Mahama, and the first national chairman of the APC, John Odigie-Oyegun emerged winners. Femi Otedola and founder of Atlas Oranto Petroleum, Arthur Eze, were named winners in the leadership in the business category; Messrs Emmanuel and Sanni-Bello received the prize for good governance, given their achievements in governing their respective states. For the leadership in public service category, a former Director-General (DG) of the Nigerian Television Authority, Shyngle Wigwe, and the Minister of State for Petroleum, Ibe Kachikwu, were selected as winners. In the professional leadership category, former Vice-chancellor of the University of Lagos (UNILAG), Oye Ibidapo-Obe and the chairman and founder of NOVA merchant bank limited, Philips Oduoza, emerged the winners. The wife of the governor of Ekiti State, Bisi Adeleye-Fayemi, was named the winner of the Humanitarian Leadership category.

READ  China, UK develop cold storage rail container

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply