Imo panel rejects new varsities created by Okorocha


The seven-man committee, set up by Governor Emeka Ihedioha, headed by a former Vice Chancellor of the Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO), Prof. Jude Njoku, has rejected the newly-established universities during the twilight of the immediate past administration of Rochas Okorocha.

Njoku said: “We cannot afford four new universities at the same time. Can you finance them; universities that are not worth secondary schools. The new universities should be made campuses of the existing universities.

READ  36 people missing in sinking boat in DRC – Police

He advised that the Maritime University, Osemoto, Oguta, should be converted to Maritime Institute of Technology in due course.

Leave a Reply