INEC declares Dr Mugu winner of Kaura constituency


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Dr Yusuf Mugu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winner of the State Assembly seat to represent Kaura in the Kaduna State House of Assembly.

INEC Returning Officer in the LGA, Prof. Nafiu Abdu, who announced the result in Kaura on Sunday, said that Mugu polled 37,606 votes to defeat Mr Gregory Bature of the All Progressive Congress (APC), who got 8,286 votes.

See also  “I Am Coming For Your Man And I Don’t Care” – Teni Warns Married Women

“Yusuf Mugu, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest votes is hereby declared winner,” Abdu said.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Mugu aspired for the seat in 2011 and 2015 without success at the primary level.

In the Governorship election, the Collation Officer in the LGA, Dr Luka Maude, said that Isa Ashiru of the PDP also polled 38,764 votes to defeat Gov Nasir El-Rufa’i of the APC who got 8,342 votes in the LGA.

See also  Dogara raises alarm on Bauchi government’s plot to implicate him

Mr Donatus Shemang, PDP Chairman of the LGA described the development as victory for the people of Kaura constituency.

“It is the peoples victory because they have tried us and we have not failed them, and so they gave PDP their mandate to more dividend of democracy.

“I have said before that PDP will win all electoral seats in the LGA and it has come to pass. I want to assure the good people of Kaura that PDP will not fail them.

See also  Breaking: EFCC Concludes Plan To Set Up An Interim Management At The Sun Newspaper

“The people have put their trust on us and we will deliver on our promises of improving the lives of our people through numerous people oriented project that would soon be rolled out,” Shemang said. (NAN)

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply