MGI Scrabble Premier League Gets Fresh Innovations, 7 MILLION Cash Prizes

Organisers of the maiden Mindgames Scrabble Premier League has announced a set of innovations to the 2020 edition due to the requests of interest from players all over the country.

The MSPL is the first ever league to be introduced into the country designed to match the ever increasing yearning for international standards in organising tournaments by players both home and abroad.

The 12-team league format comprising six players including a female each play are playing 55 games at the four different venues across the country.

Hence, in order to meet the yearnings, organisers have planned for a second tier which will be introduced next year to accommodate players whose ratings fall below the Nigeria Scrabble Federation 1300 points as at October 31 this year.

See also  Nigerian Striker Osimhen celeberates his first goal for Napoli with #EndSARS shirt

Head of Team MGI Lukeman Owolabi, revealed this development as the final Matchday of the inaugural edition gets to it’s pinnacle in September.

Owolabi said,” starting from next year, the MSPL will be expanded to a 2-division league to accommodate more scrabble players who have expressed interest to be part of this unprecedented initiative” the former world No.9 then added that ”scrabble league teams can write to to indicate their interest before the closing date of September 20 this year.”

See also  Former Chelsea Star Makelele Returns To Chelsea

Revealing more details on the 2020 season, he said a total cash prize of seven million naira will be available for both divisions while intending teams will register with a fee of 100,000 naira and 75,000 naira for divisions 1 and 2 respectively.

For even distribution, the NSF top ten-rated players will also be seeded only for the first division while each team will have five main players and one reserved.

As part of the add-ons, a transfer window policy will also be adopted in June.

The 2020 MSPL will run from February to September in four different venues across the country after which two teams will be promoted to the top division while the two lowest ranked teams relegated.

See also  Voter registration: Teacher bused students to Asawasi, one arrested

12 teams are participating in the ongoing 2019 edition which includes Bulldozers, Airpopper, Gracious Pickers, Phoenix and Hurricanes.

Others are Tekena Drones, Team Supreme, Lekki Bombers,Olowoyeye Predators, Blazers, Brainiacs and FRSC Roadies. 

Team Blazers tops the table after 36 games after three weekends of matches in Lagos, Port-Harcourt and Abuja. 

The final Weekend holds at the prestigious Lilygate Hotel Lekki in Lagos

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply