Senate To Confirm 43 Ministerial Nominees Today

AFTER five days of the screening exercise, the Senate will today confirm the 43 ministerial nominees forwarded by President Muhammadu Buhari.

President of the Senate, Senator Ahmad Lawan, who disclosed this yesterday after the screening of nine nominees, said that three remaining nominees “the Immediate past Minister of Information and Culture” Chief Lai Mohammed from Kwara State; Sabo Nanono from Kano State; and Engr. Saleh Mamman from Taraba State, will be screened today.

Former Hon. Minister of Power, Works & Housing, Mr Babatunde Fashola, SAN exchanges greetings at the Senate Chamber, National Assembly on Monday 29th July 2019.

See also  Pressure on Buhari to declare emergency on security divides Nigerians

Photo by Gbemiga Olamikan After the screening of the three nominees, Senate President Lawan said the Senate will same day, confirm the nominees for onward presentation to President Buhari to assign portfolios and swear them in as ministers. Lawan said:

“Tomorrow (today) by the grace of God, we will be taking three nominees.

We will do the approval and confirmation of all the screened nominees tomorrow.” Those screened yesterday included immediate past Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Babatunde Raji Fashola; former Governor of Osun State, Rauf Aregbesola and Senator Gbemisola Saraki from Kwara State. Also screened were Goddy Jedy Agba from Cross River, Engr. Suleiman Adamu from Jigawa, Clement Agba from Edo State, Ambassador Maryam Katagum from Bauchi State, Dr. Muhammad Mahmoud from Kaduna State, and Geoffrey Onyeama from Enugu State. Of the 40 nominees screened so far, 20 were given the privilege of ”take a bow and go” without being subjected to the rigours of questioning by senators.

See also  No Need For 2023 Elections If Security Issues Are Not Addressed — Secondus

The 20 nominees who took a bow and left were Abubakar Aliyu (Yobe), Otumba Niyi Adebayo (Ekiti), Chris Ngige (Anambra), Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom), George Akume (Benue), Emeka Nwajiuaba (Imo), Olorunnimbe Mamora (Lagos), Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers), Tayo Alasoadura (Ondo), Mustapha Baba Shehuri (Borno), Timipre Sylva (Bayelsa), Muhammadu Musa Bello (Adamawa), and Hadi Sirika (Katsina).

Also excluded from scrutiny were seven female nominees: Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna), Sharon Ikeazor (Anambra), Ramatu Aliyu (Kogi), Sa’adiya Farouk (Zamfara) and Pauline Tallen (Plateau State), Senator Gbemisola Saraki (Kwara), and Ambassador Maryam Katagum (Bauchi).

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply