Grammy announces 2024 lifetime achievement award honorees

Grammy Awards 1536x864 1

The Recording Academy, organisers of the Grammy, have announced this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award honorees.

The honorees are singer, Laurie Anderson, gospel vocal group, The Clark Sisters, R&B crooner, Gladys Knight, hip-hop group, N.W.A, Donna Summer, and Tammy Wynette.

“This Special Merit Award is presented by vote of the Recording Academy’s National Trustees to performers who, during their lifetimes, have made creative contributions of outstanding artistic significance,” the Grammy organisers said in a statement on Friday.

Similarly, Peter Asher, DJ Kool Herc, and Joel Katz are the 2024 Trustees Award recipients; Tom Kobayashi and Tom Scott are the Technical GRAMMY Award honorees; and ‘Refugee,’ written by Somalian singer, K’naan, Steve McEwan, and Gerald Eaton (a.k.a. Jarvis Church), is honored with the Best Song For Social Change Award.

The Special Merit Awards ceremony is scheduled to be held at the Wilshire Ebell Theatre in Los Angeles on February 3, 2024.

Meanwhile, the main Grammy ceremony will be held on February 4, 2024, at the Arena in Los Angeles.

Nigerian singers, Davido, Burna Boy, Tems, Ayra Starr, Asake, and Olamide are nominated in various categories at the 66th Grammys.

Recommended For You

About the Author: Olusola Sorinmade

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *