Edo 2020: Why We Disqualified Obaseki – APC Screening Committee

Edo 2020: Why We Disqualified Obaseki - APC Screening Committee

The All Progressives Congress (APC) screening committee has disqualified the governor of Edo State, Mr. Godwin Obaseki from participating in the Edo 2020 Governorship election.

Others disqualified from the race include, Engr. Chris Ogiemwonyi, a former minister and NNPC Director; and Mr. Mathew Iduoriyekemwen, a former lawmaker under the PDP and Obaseki’s core-loyalist.

According to the APC screening committee, the governor was unfit to qualify on the grounds that his Higher School Certificate (HSC) was “defective.”

The committee chairman, Prof. Jonathan Ayuba said they could also not ascertain the authenticity of Obaseki’s National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) discharge certificate.

According to the chairman, the name on the governor’s NYSC discharge certificate bears ‘Obasek’ instead of ‘Obaseki’.

Those cleared to participate in the election include Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, a former Secretary to Edo Government, Dr Pius Odubu, former Deputy Governor and Hon. Osaro Obaze, former council chairman.

READ  Zoning 2023 Presidency To The Igbo People Will Lift Nigeria - Ezeife

The APC National Chairman, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, however said aspirants disqualified have an option to appeal their disqualification at the party’s Appeal Committee.

The APC has fixed its primaries for June 22, while the main election holds September 19. With this latest development, only Ize-Iyamu, Odubu and Obaze will now battle to clinch the party’s ticket.

In a statement made available to Akelicious, Governor Obaseki said he will not be appealing his disqualification. Rumours are rife that the governor may soon decamp to an opposition party to contest the election.

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: