President Buhari launches 2021 armed forces remembrance emblem with N10m

 2021 Armed Forces

President Muhammadu Buhari has launched the 2021 Armed Forces Remembrance Emblem and Appeal Fund with N10 million.

The short ceremony took place at the Council Chamber of the Presidential Villa, Abuja before the commencement of the 21st virtual Federal Executive Council, FEC, meeting.

The ceremony was witnessed by Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, and Dean of the diplomatic corps.

Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, National Security Adviser, NSA, Major General Babagana Mungonu (Rtd), the Head of Service of the Federation, Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan, were also in attendance.

READ  Breaking: At least 137 killed in Sri Lanka blasts

Ministers physically present at the Council Chambers were Ministers of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed and that of Defence, Major-General Bashir Salihi Magashi, retired.

President Buhari, in his remarks, urged Nigerians to desist from marking divisive statements that threaten national security.

He noted that the event is to remember the nation’s fallen heroes and veterans as well as and those currently engaged in fighting insurgency and banditry in the northern parts of the country.

The President specially commended the gallant soldiers, who despite the impact of COVID-19 have remained steadfast in keeping the nation one.

READ  Efe to Delta Political Parties, Synergy Best Democratic Processes for Sustainable development

He promised timely releases of resources for operations and welfare of the armed forces.

The President also reassured Nigerians that security will continue to be at the forefront of his administration until peace returns.
Decoration of the emblem was done by the president and secretary of the Nigerian Legion.

The Chief of Defence Staff, General Gabriel Olanisakin, Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Adamu, Director General, Department of State Services, Yusuf Bichi, and Director-General, National Intelligence Agency, Ahmed Rufai also attended the event.

President Buhari also administered the oath of office to Isa Kwarra, as Chairman of the National Population Commission.

READ  Fulani Radio: Ohanaeze Youths demand Igbo, Oduduwa, Ijaw radios

Other members who also took the oath of office in three groups of four and three are Ibrahim Mohammed from Bauchi State; Ayodeji Ajayi, Ekiti, Joseph Kwai Shazin, FCT and Garba A. Garba, Jigawa.

Second batch were Bala Almu Banya from Katsina State; Alhaji Razaq Gidado,Kwara State, Mrs Bimbola Salu-Hundeyin, Lagos, Ali Silas Agara Nasarawa State.

The last batch sworn in were Muhammed Chuso A. Dottijo, Sokoto State, Mai Aliyu Mohammad, Yobe and Muhammadu Muktar Rini from Zamfara State.

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply