President Buhari seeks confirmation of eight judges, others

President Buhari seeks confirmation of eight judges, others

President Muhammadu Buhari has submitted a list of eight Court of Appeal justices to the Senate for confirmation as judges of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

In a letter dated August 31, 2020 and read yesterday by Senate President Ahmad Lawan, the jurists include Justices Lawal Garba (North West), Helen M. Ogunwumiju (South West), Addu Aboki (North West), I. M. M. Saulawa (North West) and Adamu Jauro (North East).

The rest are Justices Samuel C. Oseji (South South), Tijjani Abubakar (North East) and Justice Emmanuel A. Agim (South South).
Similarly, the President forwarded for legislative action six nominees for appointment as Chairman, Director General and Executive Commissioners of the National Pension Commission.

READ  Be loyal or resign, Buratai tells officers, soldiers

They comprise Dr. Oyindasola Oluremi Oni (North Central) as chairman, Aisha Dahir Umar (North East) as Director-General, while Hannatu Musa (North West), Clement Oyedele Akintola (South West) Ayim C. Nyerere (South East) and Charles Efe Sylvester Emukowhale (South South) are prospective commissioners.

Buhari also requested the chamber to confirm the appointment of Nasir Isa Kwarra as Chairman of National Population Commission and 11 others as commissioners.

In another request, the Nigerian leader sought the confirmation of Ambassador Muhammad Haruna Manta and Yusuf Yunusa as non-career ambassadors-designate. He said they were replacing Air Commodore Peter Ndabake Gana (rtd) and Alhaji Yusuf Mohammed, the earlier nominees for Niger and Yobe states.

READ  Sen. Chris Ngige seeks increased funding for Geneva Labour desk

The President also nominated Emeka Nwakpa as Chairman and seven others as Executive Vice Chairman/Chief Executive, Executive Commissioners and Non-Executive Commissioners of the Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (FCCPC).

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: