Senate confirms 11 Supreme Court justices

The Senate on Thursday, December 21, confirmed the nomination of 11 Justices for appointment as Justices of Supreme Court.

This followed the consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters that screened the Justices and the approval of its recommendations by the red chamber.

The Chairman of the Committee, Senator Mohammed Monguno (APC – Borno North) presented the report.

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu had on Wednesday asked the Senate to confirm the 11 nominees, who were recommended by the National Judicial Council to fill the vacant positions following death and resignation of some justices of the Supreme Court.

The Supreme Court Justices- designate include Justice Haruna Tsammani (Northeast) who chaired the Presidential Election Petition Court, Justice Moore Adumein (South-South), Justice Jummai Sankey (North-Central), Justice Chidiebere Uwa (South-East) and Justice Chioma Nwosu-Iheme (South-East).

The others Justice Obande Ogbuinya (South-East), Justice Stephen Adah (North-Central), Justice Habeeb Abiru (South-West), Justice Jamilu Tukur (Northwest), Justice Abubakar Umar (Northwest) and Justice Mohammed Idris (North-Central).

The appointment of the 11 Justices brings to 21 the number of Justices on the Supreme Court’s bench which hitherto had only 10 justices.

The confirmation marks the first time in history that the Supreme Court would have its full complement of 21 justices, as stipulated by 1999 Constitution (As Amended).

Recommended For You

About the Author: Olusola Sorinmade

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *