Uzodinma Leads Panel To Conduct Edo APC Primary Election

20240214 083606 scaled 750x375 1

The All Progressives Congress has appointed the Imo State Governor Hope Uzodinma as chairman of a seven-member committee that will oversee the February 17 primary poll to select the party’s governorship candidate in Edo State.

Sulaiman Argungu, APC National Organising Secretary, stated this in a statement issued in Abuja on Wednesday.

Argungu further revealed that Uzodimma will be aided by Bassey Otu, the Governor of Cross River State, who has been appointed as Deputy Chairman.

He said, “Other members of the Primary Election Committee include former Osun State deputy governor, Mrs Titilayo Laoye-Tomori; APC’s flagbearer in the Plateau State 2023 governorship election, Nentanwe Yilwatde Goshwe; Umar Musa; Lawan Garba and Rabiu Suleiman who will serve as the Secretary.”

The ruling party stated that it has constituted an appeal committee for the governorship primary election with C.C. Udenwa as chairman and Yunusa Mohammed as Secretary.

“Other members include Muhammad Zakaria Sarina; Udogu Anthony Chijoke and Muhammad Garin Ali. The nominated members of Edo State National Gubernatorial Primary Election Committee and Election Appeal Committee will be inaugurated on Thursday, 15th of February, 2024 at the party’s National Working Committee Hall by 4 pm prompt,” the statement added.

The development comes four days after the leadership of the APC cleared all the 12 aspirants jostling for the sole party ticket to contest the September 22 Edo governorship election.

The successful aspirants were immediate past State Chairman of APC, Gideon Ikhine; ex-Minister of State, National Economic Planning, Clem Agba; former Edo Governor, Prof Oserheimen Osunbor; senator representing Edo Central, Monday Okpebholo; erstwhile deputy governor, Lucky Imasuen; former governorship candidate, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu and lawmaker representing Etsako Federal Constituency, Anamero Dekeri.

Others are ex-Zonal Organising Secretary for South-South, Blessing Agbohmere; House of Representatives member, Dennis Idahosa, former permanent secretary in the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security, Ernest Afolabi Umakhihe; Col. David Imuse and Major General Charles Airhiavbere (rest).

Recommended For You

About the Author: Olusola Sorinmade

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *