Peter Obi Missing As EFCC Reveals 58 Ex-govs Embezzled N2.187 Trillion

images 7

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has listed at least 58 former governors involved in the misappropriation, embezzlement, or laundering of approximately N2.187 trillion over a period of 25 years.
This amount does not include properties seized worldwide or those currently being investigated, which amount to billions of Naira.

The amount of N2.2 trillion that was looted is similar to the combined budgets of Lagos State and the South-East states for 2024, totaling N2.25 trillion and N2.29 trillion respectively.

This figure exceeds the budgets of the North-Central states and North-East states for 2024, which are N1.89 trillion and N1.60 trillion, by several billion.

However, in the list released by EFCC, Peter Obi, who served as the former Anambra State Governor, was notably absent from the list of governors accused of embezzling public funds.

Commenting on Peter Obi not being on the list, some Nigerians expressed their belief that he stands apart from other politicians, emphasizing his track record of fiscal responsibility and ethical leadership. One netizen remarked, “Peter Obi is different. He’s a man of his word, and his actions speak volumes about his dedication to serving the people.”

The 58 ex-governors who are currently or have previously faced investigations by EFCC, with alleged amounts in question, consist of:

See also  IMF Ranks Nigeria Second Least Indebted Country In Africa

Late Abubakar Audu (N10.966 bn), TA Orji and sons (N551 bn), Yahaya Bello (N80.2 bn), Chimaroke Nnamani (N5. 3 bn), Sullivan Chime (N450 million), Kayode Fayemi (N4bn), Ayo Fayose (N6.9 bn), Abdullahi Adamu (N15bn), Danjuma Goje (N5bn), Aliyu Wamakko (N15 bn), Sule Lamido (N1.35 bn), Joshua Dariye (N1. 16 bn), Timipre Sylva (N19.2 bn),Saminu Turaki (N36bn), Orji Uzor Kalu (N7. 6bn), Bello Matawalle (N70 bn), Lucky Igbinedion (N4. 5 bn),Musa Kwakwanso (N10bn), Peter Odili (N1000 bn), Jolly Nyame (N1.64 bn), James Ngilari (N167 m) Abdulaziz Yari (N84 bn),Godswill Akpabio (N100bn), Abdul fatah Ahmed (N9 bn), Ali Mode-Sheriff (N300bn), Ibrahim Dankwambo (N1. 3bn), Darius Ishaku (N39bn), Ramalan Yero (N700m), Achike Udenwa (N350m), Rochas Okorocha (N10. 8bn), James Ibori (N40 bn),DSP Alamieyeseigha (N2.655bn), Gabriel Suswam (N3. 111bn), Samuel Orton (N107bn),Murtala Nyako (N29bn), Rashid Ladoja (4.7bn), Christopher Alao-Akala (N11. 5 bn), Abdulkadir Kure (N600m), Babangida Aliyu (N4bn), Abubakar Audu (N10bn), Idris Wada (N500m), Ibrahim Shekarau (N950m), Adamu Aliero (N10bn), Usman Dakingari and wife (N5. 8bn), Attahiru Bafarawa N19. 6bn), Jonah Jang (N6. 3bn), Aliyu Doma (N8bn), Tanko Al’Makura (N4bn), Boni Haruna (N93bn), Bindow Jibrila (N62bn), Adamu Muazu (13bn), Isa Yuguda N212bn), Mohammed Abubakar (N8. 5bn).

Recommended For You

About the Author: Akelicious

One Comment to “Peter Obi Missing As EFCC Reveals 58 Ex-govs Embezzled N2.187 Trillion”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *