9th Assembly: Williams elected Cross River Speaker


The Cross River State House of Assembly has elected leaders to pilot the affairs of the ninth Assembly in Calabar, the state capital.

The election, which took place in Calabar on Tuesday, featured the election of Hon. Eteng Williams of Yakurr II constituency as Speaker of the 9th Assembly.

Erstwhile Deputy Speaker and member representing Calabar South State Constituency, Hon. Joseph Bassey, was retained as Deputy Speaker.

READ  Kano State Hisbah Arrests 2 Men For Sending Porn To A Married Woman

Consequently, the names of other positions including Leader of the House, Deputy Leader, Chief Whip and Deputy Whip were sent in by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

They are: Hon. Peter Odinga Odey Leader, Hon. Fred Osim Deputy Leader, Hon. Ephraim Okon Chief Whip, while the only female member considered in the 9th Assembly leadership, Hon. Regina Anyogo, was elected Deputy Whip.

Afterwards, the newly elected Speaker swore in other members of the ninth Assembly.

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply