Imo North Bye-election primary: Senator Ararume emerges APC Candidate

Imo North Bye-election primary

By Chijindu Emeruwa

Senator Ifeanyi Ararume, has emerged Candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, for Imo North Senatorial bye-election.

This came following the death of the occupant and former Speaker of Imo State of House of Assembly, Senator Benjamin Uwajumogu early this year.

Senator Ararume emerged the APC candidate through direct primaries held across the INEC wards in Imo North Senatorial district of Imo State, Thursday.

Ararume, who was the 2019 governorship Candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, in Imo State before his return to APC, squared up against other aspirants in a keenly contested and transparent primaries conducted by members of the Primary Electoral Committee set up by the National Caretaker/ Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee and witnessed by the Independent National Electoral Commission and other statutory monitors.

READ  Sanwo-Olu To Abolish Pensions For Tinubu, Fashola, Ambode, Others

This was disclosed in a press statement forwarded to AKELICIOUS, by the Publicity Secretary of the governing All Progressives Congress, APC, in Imo State, Jones Fcc Onwusoanya, on Thursday night.

The Imo APC posited that the emergence of Senator Ararume at the just concluded bye-election primary, has shown a wide and unassailable acceptability among the teeming party members and the generality of Okigwe zone electorate.

The Party urged other aspirants to accept the outcome of the primary election in good faith and team up with the candidate to ensure that APC retains the seat at the national Assembly.

READ  Shehu Sani reacts as Nigeria Prisons get new name, tells govt next line of action

“We commend the security agencies, INEC, media, and indeed all our members in Imo North Senatorial District for a hitch-free, free and fair direct primary election and assure that our party will continue to conform with democratic norms and rules in carrying out its activities at every level”.

Recall that the leadership of the All Progressives Congress, APC, had listed aspirants screened and cleared by the national secretariat for the Bye-election primary.

READ  ‘I am not a spare tyre, I have roles in governance’ Says Baba Tela,

They were, Senator Ifeanyi Godwin Ararume, Hon. Mathew Omegara, Senator Achonu Athanasius Nneji, Engr. Uchendu Maric Chijioke, Hon. Ibezim Chukwuma Frank, Dr. Uwajumogu Edith Chidinma, Mrs. Uchenna Onyeiwu Ubah,
Dr. Okoro Eze Joachim, Hon. Nwachukwu Bright Uchenna, Hon. Onuoha Chikwem Chijioke and Rt. Hon. Ihim Iheanacho Celestine.

Imo North Bye-election primary

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: