Breaking: Ahmed Lawan defeats Ndume with 79 votes against 28

It is June 11, the day proclaimed by President Muhammadu Buhari for the inauguration of the ninth Senate and the House of Representatives as well as their respective principal officers.

Just immediately after the 2019 general election, in which Buhari won a return to the seat of power, the battle had shifted to the National Assembly where the All Progressives Congress (APC) and its governors decided on Ahmed Lawan as the Senate president and Femi Gbajabiamila as the speaker.

READ  2019 Presidency: Blow to Atiku…Yar’Adua’s PDM backs Buhari

However, like in 2015, the political battle for the headship of the legislative arm has been tough. Senator Ali Ndume, had reportedly turned down overtures to step down for the party’s endorsed candidate. Ndume maintains that he does not believe in imposition. He also argues that to make the country great, the executive arm of government is not supposed to interfere in the election of the leadership of the National Assembly.

READ  Shame To Manchester United As They miss 2019/2020 UEFA Champions League

Ndume was believed to be banking on the huge number of the senators on the platform of the PDP and a few from the APC, a major challenge for Lawan, who has been able to secure the endorsement of Danjuma Goje, a fellow contender for the position, who recently stepped down.

At the House of Representatives, the tide is believed to favour Gbajabiamila ahead of Chukwu Emeka Nwajiuba, who is supported by the Arewa Youth Consultative Forum (AYCF).

READ  Naira Marley hints on plans to help prisoners

In less than twenty-four hours to the inauguration, the national chairman of the APC, Adams Oshiomhole, met with the party’s caucus at the National Assembly while Governor Nyesom Wike of Rivers also held marathon meetings with PDP legislators.

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: